Spring Training: Day 1

I’d love to provide everyone with some deep insight and musings about the Mariners after watching them play the Chicago White Sox yesterday, but that would be burying the lead of the story.

I got thrown through a window at the Travelodge.

Stand-up Scottsdale, the comedy club I’m playing this weekend along with Jeff Dye, Brian Moote and Patrick Moote, was kind enough to provide us with a couple of rooms for the weekend.

Keeping a close eye on the game.

It started with a little impromptu wrestling match in the grass outfield seating area at Chicago’s spring training complex with Jeff.

The fighting, apparently still in our system, carried over back to our lovely room at the Travelodge in Scottsdale.

Bored of dominating Jeff, I quickly and expertly switched my hold and tried to get a headlock on him from the other side of the bed.

Warnings from Brian and Patrick of “Watch the window,” and “Go to the right” went unheeded as Jeff and I fell off the bed and I went through the 6′ X 4′ window.

As I lay on the floor in a crumpled heap, Jeff made a quick check for blood and then proceeded to rip his shirt off and flex over me (no doubt some sort of misguided attempt to claim victory and taint the scorecard).

Not so miraculously given my superhuman and borderline reptilian tough skin, I did not suffer from any cuts or abrasions. What I did end up with was a bruised ego and a head full of wild lies for the inevitable discussion with the hotel manager.

 

 

Brian, "I'm not mad, just disappointed"

There is video of the event, which will be posted on this blog shortly.

Oh yeah, the Mariners lost 6-1. I think.

More Spring Training coverage to come! Check back tomorrow.

About Andrew Sleighter

I'm a comedian from Seattle, recently transplanted to Los Angeles. I like watching sports.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

