Spring Training: Wrap-up

Jeff Dye in the front, myself in the back. A doctor later confirmed I was legally dead for approximately 17 minutes during this car ride.

What a long, strange trip it was.

This is a photo taken by driver/comedian Brian Moote on our way through the desert back to LA yesterday. Part of me wishes he had spent a little less time framing up the shot, and a little more time looking at the road, but who am I to complain?

We caught the Mariners versus Giants for our last game of the trip. Another game, another one-run effort from the M’s offense.

Outfield tickets at the Mariners home complex in Peoria are $5. In Scottsdale, where the Giants play, they were $20. Twenty bucks, to sit in the grass and watch a bunch of players who have a somewhat shot of making the team play in a game that doesn’t count. I know, a deal, right?

The main problem with grass seating, especially when it’s crowded like it was on Sunday, is accidental hand touching. A lot of leaning back on your hands goes on and your bound to graze, or flat out grab, a stranger’s hand.

The best thing not to do after your third such encounter with a stranger’s hand is to look at them in the eyes and say, “Maybe it was meant to be.”

Milton Bradley started in this game, despite the details of his domestic assault case coming out, where he allegedly threw a glass at his wife.

I’ll say this about keeping Bradley on the team. When I was standing in the grass seating area in center field about 450 feet away from the batters box, and Milton stepped up to the plate, I was afraid of him. I can only imagine what that does for team chemistry when you have to sit next to the guy.

What have we learned from this trip? The M’s aren’t hitting, alcohol is cheap and plentiful in Arizona and while Travelodge windows are fragile, I am indestructible.

Note:

A lot of people have been asking about the promised video of me going through the window. It will be posted here as soon as I can get it online. There will also be an opportunity for you to vote as to whether or not I was “thrown out” or “fell out.”

 

 

 

About Andrew Sleighter

I'm a comedian from Seattle, recently transplanted to Los Angeles. I like watching sports.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

