Diary of a Pro Bowl Fan

For one man, the Superbowl happens this weekend.

The contest happening two weeks from now couldn’t interest him less.

He spends the entire year waiting for one game to root on his favorite team.

Meet Eddie Carroway, the world’s only Pro Bowl fan.

Since 1970, Eddie has attended every single Pro Bowl. All so he could root on his favorite team, the NFC.

Eddie, from Mesquite Nevada, was a huge football fan growing up, but never got invested in a regular team.

“My family all loved the Denver Broncos, but I always found myself more interested in the Pro Bowl at the end of the year. That’s when all the best players play, you know? And the NFC had some really great teams in the 70’s, so they were easy to root for.”

Since that time, Eddie has passionately rooted for the NFC to win the Pro Bowl every year.

“A lot of people are like, ‘Why do you care who wins the Pro Bowl? The players aren’t even trying?’ And I just tell them, its the same thing as you rooting for the Cowboys or the Packers, the NFC is just my team.”

Eddie says the general public’s indifference to the NFL’s annual all-star game has forced him to watch the game in seclusion.

“Most people just like rooting for big plays or want to talk about work or something during the game. I can’t take it. You’re either cheering for the NFC or I can’t be in the same room as you.”

Eddie’s room looks like the least crowded section of any NFL team store. There’s autographed jerseys hanging from the walls, bobble heads, pennants, posters; all Pro Bowl related. Outside his driveway there’s a sign that says, “Parking reserved for NFC fans only.”

Eddie doesn’t get too involved in the NFL regular season, except to scout players who might make it to the Pro Bowl. And he doesn’t watch the playoffs at all as it has no bearing on the big game.

“For me, the regular season is kind of like other people’s off season. Just seeing which players might make it on the squad. How they’ll match up against the AFC. Who the coach is going to be. That kind of thing.”

As for the hated-rival AFC, don’t tell Eddie you’re a fan.

“I can’t stand the AFC. They have the worst fans. It’s actually cost me a few relationships. I was engaged to a girl who turned out to be an AFC fan.”

That girl, Kelly, had this to say.

“I didn’t even know what the Pro Bowl was. I just tried to be involved in this thing he was obsessed with and accidentally cheered for the wrong team I guess. The uniforms look identical. Looking back I probably dodged a bullet.”

How does Eddie like the NFC’s chances this year?

“Well, I think the quarterback matchup is in our favor. I like Aaron Rodgers over Ben Roethlisberger. Plus, there’s a continuity with Rodgers’ coach Mike McCarthy coaching the NFC.

Vegas has it as a pick’em. Not that I bet anymore, I went dead broke three separate times in my life betting on that game.

In ’92, when Tasker hit that field goal I lost my house.”

 

About Andrew Sleighter

I'm a comedian from Seattle, recently transplanted to Los Angeles. I like watching sports.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

