100th Post! Get To Know An NFL Replacement Ref: Bruce Hermansen

If you would have told me two years ago that I’d be sitting here on Labor Day weekend about to write my 100th post for this blog, I’d sit there for a second, do the math, and be underwhelmed. However, there were many who never thought this blog would make it to 100 posts. In all fairness to them, they didn’t have that thought because they didn’t know the blog existed, as it is wildly under-read (in my opinion).

I’d like to thank WordPress, mostly for keeping track of how many blogs I’ve posted as I would never be able to keep track or take the time to count.

Sure it’s been a little inconsistent. This site has laid dormant for extended stretches. Desperate readers checking in only to see a post from 7 months ago still sitting atop the page. Like children sitting on a couch staring out a window hoping every car is their deadbeat father coming back from his 3-year journey to grab ice cream for the family.

Well, unlike that awful dad, I’m endeavoring to be better. Not in regards to quality of course, just in the sense of producing content. Every Monday, Wednesday and Friday there will be a new post on here. You can take that to the bank. That is unless I get a better writing job, which in case I will be taking actual checks to the bank.

But enough of these self-indulgent false promises. As you may have heard, the NFL has announced replacement officials will start week 1 of the regular season. Seeing as this labor dispute has no end in sight, I think it’s time to get to know these scabs a little better.

It’s time for, “Get to know an NFL Replacement Ref” with Bruce Herman. 

Q: What’s your earliest memory watching football?

A: I went to a Superbowl party two years ago. I mostly went just to watch the commercials, but I found the game to be pretty neat. I think it was the Jaguars and Tigers or something.

Q: Who are some of your referee mentors?

A: Wow, I’d say that boxing guy who says “Get it on!” I always thought he was funny. And Tom Pappa from “The Marriage Ref.”

Q: Before this, what was your highest profile officiating job? 

A: I was the referee at an oyster eating contest. It wasn’t a major league one but there were a lot of people there. Oyster fans I guess.

Q: What was your very first job? 

A: Salesman at Foot Locker. My employee picture is what I sent in on my resume to get this NFL gig. I think them visualizing me in the stripes helped a lot!

Q: Tell us something about you people would be surprised to know. 

A: I’m a little claustrophobic. And just the idea of going under that hood to watch instant replay really freaks me out. I hope there’s no challenges this year.

Q: If you could have dinner with any three people living or dead, who would you choose? 

A: First of all, I’d pick all living people because next to dark, enclosed spaces, dead bodies are like my second biggest fear.

Q: Ohhh, I meant…

A: So, I guess I’d go with Barack Obama, my new neighbor Chad who seems like a really nice guy, and Walter Matthau.

Q: I think Walter Matthau is dead. 

A: Well then cancel it! I told you I have a problem with dead bodies.

Q: It’s just a hypothetical. Please calm down. Last question. Where do you see yourself in 5 years? 

A: Hopefully umping in the NFL still. If not, I guess having dinner with Chad or something.

About Andrew Sleighter

I'm a comedian from Seattle, recently transplanted to Los Angeles. I like watching sports.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 100th Post! Get To Know An NFL Replacement Ref: Bruce Hermansen

  1. Nuh uh says:

    I was sad.

Leave a Reply

